Friday, January 1, 2010

X-Ray Virgin No More!


Well today I had the 'pleasure' of going to a foot doctor.
On this cold, windy, wet, and cloudy day. Yeah...plus we pretty much were screwed over waiting for the buses in this weather and, (Oh yes there is an AND). We got off at the wrong stop and had to walk back around Grand Army Plaza to get to the office.

sigh

Since it was the first time there I had to fill out papers and wait a bit. Then the nurses asked me why I was seeing the doctor. Told them I had a problem with my right foot, with the pain, and the odd bone-like growth-possible spur. So they said ok lets get you some x-rays then.

"what?" I say

So I followed the tech (who was kind of cute) into a dark room.She tells me to lock the door and take off my sneakers ans socks and roll up my jeans...
Let the mind wander and you would get ideas for a porno.
But that is not why we are here.
I got the pleasure to hold a vest over my crotch and upper leg area to prevent me from glowing in the dark later on in the day.
X-rays done. Back to regular office room. I got to see my x-rays and it looked like my foot was turning into a raptor claw.
Just joking wasn't that bad.
I did have a rather large bone spur that looked like a claw growing up.
Soon I would be able to hang upside down from trees like bat.
Which is causing a tightness and stretching at the back of my leg near the Achilles tendon. Nice right?
So I have to try some stretching exercises, get some kind of gel, and go for physical therapy.
We will see what happens then see him in a month.
Kinda wish I took care of this sooner.

Trick 'r Treat


So finally this damn movie was released. Straight to DVD but at least it was released. I personally have been waiting to see Trick 'r Treat ever since it was announced a year or so ago. But due to studio shenanigans it was delayed and delayed. Given a release date then delayed some more. I guess since it was something new and not a remake or sequel the studio decided it won't make money. Yet you constantly see utter shit being released in theaters. But that is for another day.

On to the movie.
It was worth the wait. Trick 'r Treat is hands down one of the best Halloween inspired movies I have seen. Notice I didn't say best horror or best movie. I know how people get when you say certain things. Back to the movie. When I think of Halloween I think of candy, jack o lanterns, ghosts, witches, zombies, vampires, werewolves, ghouls, freaks, crazy maniacs, and that one neighbor who hates everything. That is Halloween right? Well you get all that and some more with Trick 'r Treat. From the beginning to end it's a non stop fun and scares. I don't want to spoil the movie too much so if you don't want to know certain things then look away.

The sack-head kid is great and creepy as this Halloween ghoul that you see everywhere. The zombie children at the rock quarry lake are terrifying. The werewolf girls are freaking great. i loved how there transformation was done. Very similar to how werewolves turn in the Hellboy comics. With the skin being cut and ripped off to reveal the werewolf inside. Oh and for your True Blood fans Anna Paquin is a hottie in her Red Riding Hood costume and as one of the she-wolfs.

I highly suggest that every fan of Halloween pick up a copy and enjoy what is a true Halloween movie. Oh if anyone has Halloween movie parties definetly include Trick r' Treat.

Paranormal Activity


After watching Paranormal Activity, you might want to sleep with the lights on for a week or four.

Rarely do I find myself affected by a horror film. It has been years to really feel scared by horror movie as of late. It seems more and more filmmakers are looking to make you squirm from graphic violence, or cheer with an over-the-top kill rather than truly give goosebumps. I’m talking about an honest to goodness level of fear.

So it was truly a surprise to sit in a darkened theater, hoping to be terrified and being richly rewarded with a slow chill moving down my spine, goosebumps, and honestly scared. But it wasn’t a series of gruesome images, or even a masked killer ready to pounce on his or her victim every two seconds, it was sometimes merely a door opening by itself. There is a slow burn that starts quietly, and as each night passes for a young couple, the darkness and what lurks in it seems a little more nightmarish.

The movie about a young couple, Katie and Micah, seem to be having some problems with their new house. They claim to hear noises and a few other things that go bump in the night. But we also find that Katie has a history of the supernatural in her past. She tells of creepy stories about being eight years old and terrorized by the sound of heavy breathing or a dark shadow standing next to her bed. When these new ghostly things begin to happen to her as an adult, she wants to simply ignore them. But boyfriend Micah is a extremely fascinated by the whole idea. He decides to set up cameras inside their home and film everything that is going on. This includes one in the bedroom meant to record what happens while they sleep. The movie starts off slow. With a couple of noises and knocks. Then the door swings. Then the shit hits the fan and we start experiencing the worst of it.

Like what I wrote before I love horror movies, but there has not been one in years to truly scare me. Paranormal Activity has accomplished what many have tried to do. This is a truly scary movie that should please both hardcore horror fans and casual viewers equally, something that's very difficult to do.

GO SEE IT AND GOOD LUCK GOING TO SLEEP!

Culinary Slumber



I am a chef. I cook. Have been since as long as I can remember. Not a day passes without me watching food channel. HAHA.
I have been out of work for a few months. And out of the kitchen for a couple of months due to me being in Florida visiting family. So I am not able to cook as much as I usually do at home (or work). That being said I have been taking a mental and physical culinary vacation. But I think it is finally over!
Yesterday my cousin, aunt, sister, mother, and I went driving around. We ended the day by going to Target to look around and pick some things up. We were in the kitchen section when I came across a small section of cookbooks. Normal bullshit Rachel Ray ( not a fan but I know some people like her), Ina, etc. But there was this one book that caught my eye. Some green, soft-cover, thick cook book. Now the name escapes me, but obviously it had the word food in the title. I grabbed it and started reading through the recipes and seeing the pictures. Then something snapped.
I'm not sure what it was but the book brought a smile to my face and I got super excited to what was in my hands. Pages and pages of these great recipes. American cuisine, French, Italian, Indian, Spanish, Middle Eastern, etc. It had it all. And I wanted to make them all!
After a few minutes of drooling I walked over to the magazine section and found the current issue of Bon Appetite magazine, the Thanksgiving issue. Holy shit did the sensation from before smack me across the face yet again. All these recipes for the holiday season crammed into a thin magazine. Yet again I wanted to try them all.
But why this feeling all of a sudden? Why did these recipes turn on the stove in my brain? Why did it compell me to write about it? I am not too sure. All I know is that I want to cook so so bad now. I am itching to get back to a kitchen to create amazing food. I see the reaction of family and friends and even strangers when they see and taste what I made for them. To see how happy it makes them. To see their satisfaction. To hear them complain that they want more but are too full to have another bite.
I want to cook!

Happy New Year 2010!!!



Happy New Year 2010!!!

New year.
New slate.
New beginning!!!!!